top of page

Reflections on My Second Semester

Embarking on my second semester began with packing up my car and driving to Gainesville, starting my first official semester on campus. I found myself dorming in Lakeside Complex, traversing the maze of city bus routes, and exploring a 2,000-acre campus that would be my home for the next three years. This semester offered an entirely new experience that included my first time conducting undergraduate research, meeting new people (in person), and exploring all that Gainesville has to offer.


Watching the sunrise while volunteering with COVID-19 vaccinations

Undergraduate Research

My first experience conducting research began this semester through the University Research Scholars Program, a four-year program designed to introduce students to academic research by invitation only when applying to UF. Through a Course-Based Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE) course titled An Ounce of Prevention, I was introduced to preventative science within the Family, Youth, and Community Sciences Department. I explored the history of preventative science, different social theories and frameworks, and how to apply my knowledge to real-world scenarios. Alongside fantastic faculty mentors and two other peers, I designed a research project and presented my findings at the 2021 Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium. More information and reflection on this experience can be found here.


Two other courses I took this semester also allowed me to write research papers on social issues that interested me. These courses were Introduction to Cultural Anthropology and Global Gender Issues, both being anthropology courses that deeply fascinated me.


Through Introduction to Cultural Anthropology, I evaluated the relationship between the history and significance of the Chinese qipao, or cheongsam, to cultural appropriation and racial power dynamics. This discussion included readings from the course regarding racism, power structures, and how culture is shared, maintained, or changed over time. It also included personal experiences of discrimination and racial assimilation that I've encountered throughout my life.


Global Gender Issues allowed me to conduct a semester-long research project on the variability of leadership style and confidence levels by gender. This involved interviewing fifteen individuals and listening to their experiences, leading to a qualitative evaluation of their responses to identify trends that compare and contrast with published literature. Writing this paper prompted me to think critically, forming unique conclusions and societal implications that ultimately reiterated known discrimination experienced by female leaders. I was also able to learn about research on role congruity, which states that the stereotypical characteristics of men and the stereotypical characteristics of good leaders align, making it easier for men to be perceived as more successful leaders compared to women.


While these papers are minor in comparison to actual published works of research, they provided me the creative space to discuss issues important to me while learning more about the world.



Volunteering in Public Health

Centering on my interest in public health, I was eager to contribute to the fight against COVID-19 through whatever efforts I could. This led me to volunteer with UF Screen, Test, & Protect and vaccine distributions on campus every Friday morning. I initially started with testing patients for Coronavirus until the vaccine became publicly available to select populations, then allowing me to volunteer in the process of administering Moderna and Pfizer vaccines.


Through volunteering, I was able to assist with screening the Gainesville population for COVID-19 by instructing sample collection procedures, signing in patients for appointments, and entering patient data information into the Florida Department of Health for Alachua County. These shifts lasted from 7:00 AM to 12:30 PM and left me feeling inspired and hopeful for the future.


After a month, I moved to vaccine distribution which took place in the famous Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (Go Gators!). Once again, I chose the morning shift and was greeted every week by the beautiful sunrise over the stadium. The sunrise represented hope and optimism for the next few hours, as the shared goal of the program was to vaccinate as many people as possible to combat COVID-19. By working as a check-in coordinator, I met numerous people and worked to ease their anxieties about the vaccine through answering questions, directing them to the next station, and greeting them with a smile - even if it was under my mask.


These interactions portrayed the vast demographics and backgrounds of patients that were all seeking the same equitable care. Providing this quality service and interacting one-on-one with individuals empowered my passion for serving the public and working within epidemiology. Although I was merely one person in a sea of volunteers, health professionals, and academic experts, I found great purpose and inspiration from this volunteer experience.



General Chemistry 2 Laboratory

Given that my first college laboratory experience, General Chemistry 1, was online during the fall semester, I was thrilled to experiment with new tools and technology. Although half of the labs were online, entering the Joseph Hernandez Hall made my chemistry-loving side excited every time. From testing Le Chatelier's principle to performing titrations, viewing chemistry concepts and reactions in real life greatly helped to solidify my knowledge. This course also allowed me to make a new friend through my un-official lab partner (partners were not given due to COVID-19 protocols and social distancing)!



Concluding my First Year

The experience of physically being on campus significantly improved my college experience and granted me new and exciting encounters. My spring courses solidified my interest in anthropology and have motivated me to consider minoring in this subject. I also hope to continue volunteering within a realm of public health once I return to Gainesville in the fall. Based off of my first year, I'm excited to see what the next three years of university will bring me!






Comments


bottom of page